History of IAESTE A.s.b.l.

Founding countries

10 founding countries of 1948

In the aftermath of World War II, a new spirit pervaded the world: a desire for International understanding and cooperation. It was this spirit that brought forth both the United Nations (UN) and IAESTE, organisations dedicated to promoting these objectives.

Member countries as of 2019

In January 1948, on the initiative of the London Imperial College Vacation Work Committee, national organisations from ten European countries attended a meeting at the Imperial College and founded IAESTE - Mr. James Newby was elected General Secretary. The geographical coverage soon spread to most of Europe and beyond, as new countries were granted membership. In 2005, the Association became a registered body according to Luxembourg law at its General Conference in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia. 

For more information please visit:



Copyright © 2019 IAESTE Austria. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Imprint | ZVR: 506872161